Canadian
I HAVE A QUESTION ABOUT...
HEALTH AND SAFETY ISSUES
1Health Canada Guidelines Safety Code 6

 

 

A proponent is responsible for ensuring that all of their facilities are constructed in compliance with all health and safety regulations under the federal statutes of which radiocommunications sites must adhere. This includes Health Canada’s Limits of Human Exposure to Radiofrequency Electromagnetic Energy in the Frequency Range of 3 kHz to 300 GHz - Safety Code 6(2009) - or more commonly referred to as “SC6”.

 

A proponent’s obligations under Health Canada requirements are to ensure that all equipment used on a site, and its configuration, do not allow for exposure limits to be exceeded under SC6. To achieve this, the proponent obtains undertakings from their equipment manufacturers that the individual equipment components meet the requirements of SC6.

 

During the site design the proponent conducts a site simulation to ensure that the cumulative effects of the equipment emissions in the specific configuration adopted in the design result in electromagnetic energy (EME) exposure that is less than the limits imposed by Health Canada when combined with other sources of electromagnetic energy in an uncontrolled environment.

 

Each site design is then approved by a Professional Engineer licensed in the Province where the site is located, and the SC6 report is available to Industry Canada as part of its regulatory undertakings.

 

There are a number of studies purporting that radiocommunications structures increase risks of certain types of illnesses and symptoms.  Health Canada has the mandate and responsibility to consider these studies and revise its guidelines and requirements in those cases where they feel these studies warrant changes to the regulations that proponents operate under.  Proponents defer to Health Canada to establish proper exposure limits.

 

Notwithstanding any of the above, the proponent is not responsible during the consultation process for proving to the public or LUAs that SC6 provides adaquate protection from EME, nor disproving statements regarding possible health implications of EME exposure. Provided the proponent is compliant with SC6, CPC 2-0-03 (2014) indicates that a proponent may proceed with a proposed radiocommunications site independent of any such concerns from the public or LUA.

 

Concerns of a health nature from the public or LUA can be directly addressed by Health Canada by contacting:

 

Consumer and Clinical Radiation Protection Bureau
Health Canada
775 Brookfield Road
A.L. 6302C
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 1C1

E-mail: ccrpb-pcrpcc@hc-sc.gc.ca
Telephone: 613-954-6699
Teletypewriter: 1-800-267-1245 (Health Canada)

 

 

2Other Research into Electromagnetic Energy Emissions (EME)

 

 

While Health Canada conducts its own research into the effects of electromagnetic energy emissions (EME), it does not conduct this research in a vacuum, nor is Canada the only country conducting such research.

 

There are other governmental and academic organizations which have issued reports on the effects of EME. These peer review papers and reports provide additional information and, in some cases, differing views than that shared by Health Canada. Members of the public should use caution in drawing conclusions from these studies however as not all published papers have been vetted by the scientific community and their conclusions may not withstand scrutiny.

 

It is recommended that members of the public consider the following when reading scientific papers:

 

1) Academic papers written about EME are written with a scientific audience in mind. As a result, a reader who is not "skilled in the art" of engineering or biology may misinterpret phrases which are commonly used by those familiar with this field of study. Care should be taken to make sure that the meaning of study recommendations and conclusions, which may include caveats and limitations of study methods, are fully understood prior to drawing conclusions.

 

2) Research into EME is funded by a number of organizations, some of whom have inherent biases. The public should ensure they understand the source of funding used to conduct research and author studies so that any conflict or possible bias can be considered in the context of any recommendations.

 

The following are a list of resources which can be considered reliable and have been vetted by the international scientific community:

 

UN World Health Organization - International Electromagnetic Field Project

 

 

 

 

Canadian
Canadian Radiocommunications Information and Notification Service (CRINS)
P.O. Box 501 - 1500 Bank Street, - Ottawa, Ontario - K1H 7Z2
Telephone: 1-855-502-7467 - Facsimile: 1-866-240-7025
E-mail: assistance@crins-sinrc.ca
Copyright 2011 CRINS-SINRC Corporation All Rights Reserved

Canadian
DES RÉPONSES À VOS QUESTIONS
QUESTIONS LIÉES À LA SANTÉ-SÉCURITÉ
Lignes directrices de Santé Canada : le Code de sécurité 6

 

 

Le promoteur a la responsabilité de s’assurer que toutes ses installations respectent les règlements de santé et de sécurité stipulés dans les lois fédérales auxquels doivent adhérer les sites de radiocommunications. Parmi ces règlements se trouve le document Limites d’exposition humaine à l’énergie électromagnétique radioélectrique dans la gamme de fréquences de 3 kHz à 300 GHz - Code de sécurité 6 (2009), souvent appelé « CS6 ».

 

En vertu des exigences de Santé Canada, le promoteur a l’obligation de s’assurer que les équipements utilisés sur son site et la configuration de ces équipements ne permettent pas que soient dépassés les plafonds d’exposition fixés dans le CS6. Pour ce faire, le promoteur obtient des fabricants un engagement voulant que chaque composante de chaque équipement respecte les exigences du CS6.

 

Pendant la phase de conception du site, le promoteur effectue une simulation pour s’assurer que l’exposition à l’énergie électromagnétique résultant des effets cumulatifs des émissions des équipements, selon la configuration adoptée, ne dépasse pas les limites imposées par Santé Canada, lorsqu’elles s’additionnent aux autres sources d’énergie électromagnétique dans un environnement non contrôlé.

 

Chaque plan de site est alors approuvé par un ingénieur accrédité dans la province où le site se trouve. Ce rapport CS6 est mis à la disposition d’Industrie Canada, dans le cadre des démarches réglementaires du promoteur

 

Plusieurs études semblent démontrer que les structures de radiocommunications accroissent les risques de développer certaines maladies et certains symptômes. Santé Canada a le mandat et la responsabilité de tenir compte de ces études et de revoir ses lignes directrices et ses normes, lorsqu’elle juge que ces études justifient l’apport de modifications aux règlements auxquels les promoteurs sont soumis. Les promoteurs s’en remettent à Santé Canada pour établir les plafonds d’exposition adéquate.

 

Nonobstant ce qui précède, le promoteur n’a pas la responsabilité, pendant le processus de consultation, de démontrer à la population ou à l’ARUS que le CS6 protège adéquatement la population contre l’énergie électromagnétique. Il n’a pas non plus à réfuter les énoncés concernant les risques possibles à la santé d’une exposition à l’énergie électromagnétique. Selon la circulaire CPC 2-0-03 (2008), pourvu que le promoteur se conforme au SC6, il peut procéder à la construction du site de radiocommunications projeté, malgré la présence de réticences de la population ou de l’ARUS à ce sujet.

 

La population et l’ARUS peuvent adresser leurs questions sur la santé à Santé Canada :

 

Bureau de la protection contre les rayonnements des produits cliniques et de consommation
Santé Canada
775 chemin Brookfield
A.L. 6302C
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 1C1

Courriel: ccrpb-pcrpcc@hc-sc.gc.ca
Téléphone: 613-954-6699
Téléimprimeur : 1-800-267-1245 (Santé Canada)

 

 

Autres recherches sur les émissions d’énergie électromagnétique (ÉÉM)

 

 

Santé Canada effectue ses propres recherches sur les effets des émissions d’énergie électromagnétique (ÉÉM), mais elle ne travaille pas en vase clos. D’ailleurs, le Canada n’est pas le seul pays à mener de telles recherches.

 

D’autres gouvernements et organisations universitaires ont publié des rapports sur les effets des ÉÉM. Ces documents et articles parus dans des publications à comité de lecture apportent des renseignements supplémentaires et, dans certains cas, des avis qui divergent du point de vue de Santé Canada. Cela dit, avant de tirer des conclusions de ces études, les citoyens devraient faire preuve de prudence, puisqu’elles ne sont pas toutes nécessairement validées par la communauté scientifique; il est possible que leurs conclusions ne résistent pas à un examen scientifique rigoureux.

 

On recommande aux citoyens de garder à l’esprit les deux points suivants lorsqu’ils lisent des communications scientifiques :

 

1) Les articles universitaires portant sur les ÉÉM ont été rédigés pour un public scientifique. Par conséquent, le lecteur qui n’est pas « versé dans l’art » du génie ou de la biologie est susceptible de mésinterpréter des tournures utilisées couramment par les spécialistes de ce domaine d’étude. Avant de tirer des conclusions, assurez-vous de bien comprendre le sens des recommandations et des conclusions de l’étude, qui peuvent faire état d’avertissements et de limites quant à la méthodologie utilisée.

 

2) 2) Diverses organisations financent la recherche sur les ÉÉM. Certaines de ces organisations sont biaisées. Assurez-vous de connaître la source du financement utilisé pour effectuer les recherches et rédiger les études, afin de tenir compte des conflits d’intérêts et des partis-pris ayant possiblement influencé la formulation des recommandations.

 

Voici quelques ressources fiables et entérinées par la communauté scientifique internationale :

 

Organisation mondiale de la Santé de l’ONU - Projet international Champs électromagnétique

 

 

 

 

Canadian
Service d’information et de notification en radiocommunications canadiennes
C.P 501 - 1500, rue Bank - Ottawa (Ontario) - K1H 7Z2
Téléphone: 1-855-502-7467 Télécopieur: 1-866-240-7025
Courriel: assistance@crins-sinrc.ca
Copyright 2011 CRINS-SINRC Corporation All Rights Reserved