Canadian
I HAVE A QUESTION ABOUT...
PROPERTY VALUES
1Industry Canada's Position on Property Values

 

Though not originally part of the scope of the National Tower Policy Review in 2004, David Townsend (the chairperson and author of the report) took up the question during the national dialogue which occurred. The recommendation from that report was as follows:

 

"Recommendation 34: That the impact (positive or negative) that an proposed antenna installation may have upon the property values of particular parcels of land should not be the subject of an antenna consultation."

 

The rationale behind the recommendation was that :

 

"Generally, land-use planning authorities are not required to take such impacts into account when siting urban and rural infrastructure that concerned members of the public may find objectionable. Almost every planning decision will produce positive and negative impacts upon the value of land located in the immediate vicinity.

 

This recommendation is consistent with the way in which the telecommunication and planning policies of Wales handle issues related to claims of loss of property values. The planning and development authorities will address the possible impact on property values only if there is evidence of a negative effect on the locality as a whole. To quote from the policy itself:

 

'Authorities may receive representations about alleged impact of proposed telecommunications development on property values. It is not for the planning system to protect the private interests of one person against the activities of another. Although in a particular case considerations of public interest may serve to protect private interests, the material Question is not whether a particular development would cause financial or other loss to owners or occupiers of the neighbouring property, but whether the proposal would have a detrimental effect on the locality generally, and on amenities that ought, in the public interest, to be protected.' [Wales, Planning Policy, Technical Advice Note No. 19 Telecommunications, Policy on Property Values, National Assembly for Wales, Cardiff, ISBN 0 7504 2900 3, 2002 at para. 48. ]"

 

Based on this, Industry Canada has outlined in CPC 2-0-03, Section 4.2 that property values are not deemed to be a "relevant concern" with respect to antenna siting consultations, and therefore it does not represent a criteria by which an application for a proposed radiocommunications facility should be evaluated.

 

2Market Evidence relating to Property Values

 

 

Other research from market sources suggest that the market values of property surrounding telecommunications sites were adversely affected to some degree by tower sites.

 

More specifically, the demographic of interested buyers changed as some buyers were indifferent to structures such as towers and other municipal infrastructure (such as water reservoirs or high voltage power distribution lines), while other buyers were not be interested in properties which were in close proximity to those structures.

 

As such it was viewed that the presence or lack of a cellular tower was no more detrimental to the marketability of a property than any other outdoor feature associated with a real estate transaction including lot size, foliage, water courses, and surrounding amenities. While visual amenity plays some role in the marketability of a property in proximity to a tower structure, it was far more important that any concerns over health issues be addressed.

 

Canadian
Canadian Radiocommunications Information and Notification Service (CRINS)
P.O. Box 501 - 1500 Bank Street, - Ottawa, Ontario - K1H 7Z2
Telephone: 1-855-502-7467 - Facsimile: 1-866-240-7025
E-mail: assistance@crins-sinrc.ca
Copyright 2011 CRINS-SINRC Corporation All Rights Reserved

Canadian
DES RÉPONSES À VOS QUESTIONS
VALEUR DES PROPRIÉTÉS
La position d’Industrie Canada sur la valeur des propriétés

 

La question de l’incidence des pylônes d’antenne sur la valeur des propriétés ne faisait pas partie de la portée originale de l’Examen de la politique nationale sur les pylônes d’antenne, mais en 2004, David Townsend (président de cet examen et auteur du rapport) l’a ajouté aux consultations nationales. La recommandation formulée dans son rapport va comme suit :

 

«Recommendation 34: Que les répercussions (positives ou négatives) qu'un projet d'installations d'antenne pourraient avoir sur la valeur foncière de parcelles de terre particulières ne fassent pas l'objet de consultations relatives à l'implantation d'antennes. »

 

Il explique son raisonnement ainsi :

 

"Généralement, les responsables de l'utilisation du sol n'ont pas à tenir compte d'un tel impact lors du choix de l'emplacement d'infrastructures urbaines et rurales auxquelles pourraient s'opposer les membres du public. Presque toutes les décisions de planification auront une incidence positive et négative sur la valeur du sol situées dans le voisinage immédiat.

 

La présente recommandation cadre avec la manière dont les dispositions des politiques de télécommunications et de planification du pays de Galles traitent des cas d'allégations de perte de valeur foncière. Les responsables de la planification et du développement s'intéressent à l'incidence possible d'un pylône seulement si l'on peut prouver qu'il aura un effet négatif sur l'ensemble de la localité. Suit une citation tirée de la politique même :

 

'Les responsables peuvent se voir soumettre des doléances au sujet de l'incidence alléguée des projets de développement dans le domaine des télécommunications sur la valeur des propriétés. Il n'incombe pas au système de planification de protéger les intérêts privés d'une personne contre les activités d'autrui. Même si dans certains cas, la prise en compte des intérêts publics peut permettre la protection d'intérêts privés, la Question matérielle n'est pas de savoir si un développement précis pourrait provoquer une perte financière ou autre pour le propriétaire ou l'occupant de la propriété voisine, mais bien de déterminer si le projet pourrait avoir un effet néfaste sur l'ensemble de la localité et sur les commodités qui devraient, dans l'intérêt public, être protégées.' [traduction de : Pays de Galles, Planning Policy, Technical Advice Note No. 19 Telecommunications, Policy on Property Values, National Assembly for Wales, Cardiff, ISBN 0 7504 2900 3, 2002, para. 48.]"

 

C’est en se fondant sur cette recommandation qu’Industrie Canada a décidée, dans la circulaire CPC 2-0-03, article 4.2 de classer les questions concernant la valeur des propriétés parmi les « préoccupations non pertinentes » aux consultations sur l’emplacement des antennes. Par conséquent, ces doléances n’entrent pas en jeu dans l’évaluation des projets d’installations de radiocommunications.

 

Données du marché relativement à la valeur des propriétés

 

 

D’autres recherches provenant du marché semblent indiquer que les tours de télécommunications ont un impact négatif sur la valeur marchande des propriétés qui les jouxtent.

 

Plus précisément, le profil démographique des acheteurs intéressés s’est modifié : certains acheteurs sont indifférents aux tours et autres structures municipales (comme les châteaux d’eau ou les lignes électriques à haute tension), alors que d’autres ne sont pas intéressés par des propriétés situées trop près de telles structures.

 

Cela dit, la présence ou l’absence d’une tour cellulaire n’affecte ni plus ni moins le potentiel marchand d’une propriété que les autres attributs extérieurs associés à une transaction immobilière, comme la taille du terrain, la présence d’arbres, la présence de cours ou de plans d’eau, ou encore les commodités du voisinage. Bien que l’impact visuel joue un certain rôle dans la valeur marchande d’une propriété voisine d’un pylône d’antenne, il était beaucoup plus important de répondre aux préoccupations concernant la santé.

 

Canadian
Service d’information et de notification en radiocommunications canadiennes
C.P 501 - 1500, rue Bank - Ottawa (Ontario) - K1H 7Z2
Téléphone: 1-855-502-7467 Télécopieur: 1-866-240-7025
Courriel: assistance@crins-sinrc.ca
Copyright 2011 CRINS-SINRC Corporation, tous droits réservés