Canadian
I HAVE A QUESTION ABOUT...
JURISDICTION ISSUES

 

1Legislative Overview

Wireless communications and broadcast operators in Canada are licensed by the Department of Industry (Industry Canada) in accordance with the exclusively federal jurisdiction vested in the Radiocommunications Act Section 5(1) (a) (i.1).  Additionally, the broadcasting communication operator’s activities are licensed separately by the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC).

 

Amateur Radio Operators

Licenses for Amateur Radio Operators are based on operator qualifications and power output levels. Although amateur radio operators usually only have a small number of sites, and usually on their own property, the amateur radio operator is still required to comply with health and safety regulations such as Safety Code 6, and comply with CPC 2-0-03 for public consultation.

 

Non-Licensed Frequency Operators

Industry Canada has reserved allocations of frequency spectrum for non-licensed use. These frequencies are commonly used by consumer electronics such as cordless phones, baby monitors, and 802.11 or "Wi-Fi" computer equipment. Additionally, there are frequency allocations in the 9xx MHz, 2.4x GHz, and 5.x GHz ranges which are often used in fixed wireless broadband applications which has been used by internet service providers in rural areas of Canada to provide basic broadband services.

 

Nothwithstanding the fact that a license is not required for these operators, the operators must still comply with CPC 2-0-03 and conduct consultations for proposed facilities.

 

Mobile Telephone Operators

While licenses are not required for all allocations of frequency spectrum, those licenses issued to mobile telephone operators are issued to use specific frequency spectrum allocations and are bound by geographic region. The value of each license is determined based on characteristics such as population density, potential customer base, and commercial growth and is further based on the assumption of unfettered access to the customer base in a competitive environment, subject to federal laws. Implicit with each license is the ability to deploy the necessary equipment and infrastructure in the licensed area to make use of the frequency spectrum.

 

A license granted by Industry Canada, and purchased by the proponent, entitles the proponent to deploy its communications sites within the license area subject to compliance with relevant federal regulations and laws.

 

 

Canadian
Canadian Radiocommunications Information and Notification Service (CRINS)
P.O. Box 501 - 1500 Bank Street, - Ottawa, Ontario - K1H 7Z2
Telephone: 1-855-502-7467 - Facsimile: 1-866-240-7025
E-mail: assistance@crins-sinrc.ca

 

Copyright 2011 CRINS-SINRC Corporation All Rights Reserved

Canadian
DES RÉPONSES À VOS QUESTIONS
COMPÉTENCE

 

Cadre législatif

Les opérateurs de services de télécommunications sans fil et les diffuseurs canadiens doivent obtenir une licence du ministère de l’Industrie (Industrie Canada), conformément à la compétence exclusivement fédérale investie dans la Loi sur la radiocommunication, article 5(1) (a) (i.1). De plus, les activités de l’opérateur font l’objet de licences distinctes octroyées par le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC).

 

Opérateurs de radio amateur

Des licences sont octroyées aux opérateurs de radio amateur en fonction de leurs qualifications et de la force de leur signal. Bien que ces opérateurs possèdent habituellement un petit nombre de sites qui se trouvent généralement sur leur propre propriété, ceux-ci doivent néanmoins respecter les règles de santé-sécurité, dont le Code de sécurité 6, et se plier à la consultation publique prévue par la politique CPC 2-0-03.

 

Opérateurs de fréquence sans licence

Industrie Canada a réservé des segments du spectre de fréquences pour un usage exempté de licence. Ces fréquences sont communément utilisées par les appareils électroniques domestiques, comme les téléphones sans fil, les interphones de surveillance et les appareils informatiques 802.11 ou « wi-fi ». De plus, certaines fréquences des plages 9xx MHz, 2,4x GHz et 5,x GHz sont généralement réservées à la communication sans fil à large bande. Elles sont utilisées par des fournisseurs d’accès à Internet pour offrir un service à large bande dans les régions rurales du Canada.

 

Même si ces opérateurs n’ont pas besoin d’obtenir une licence, ils doivent se plier à la politique CPC 2-0-03 et consulter la population sur les installations qu’ils proposent.

 

Opérateurs de téléphonie mobile

Toute attribution d’un spectre de fréquences n’exige pas nécessairement l’obtention d’une licence. Néanmoins, les licences accordées aux opérateurs de téléphonie mobile autorisent l’utilisation de fréquences précises dans une région géographique précise. La valeur de chaque licence est calculée en fonction de divers facteurs, comme la densité de la population, la clientèle potentielle et la croissance commerciale. Elle se fonde aussi sur l’hypothèse d’un accès direct à la clientèle potentielle dans un environnement concurrentiel régi par les lois fédérales. Chaque licence octroyée sous-entend l’autorisation de déployer l’équipement et les infrastructures nécessaires pour utiliser le spectre de fréquences en question dans la région géographique en question.

 

La licence qu’octroie Industrie Canada et qu’achète le promoteur autorise ce dernier à déployer ses sites de communication à l’intérieur de la région visée par la licence, dans le respect des lois et règlements fédéraux.

 

 

Canadian
Service d’information et de notification en radiocommunications canadiennes
C.P 501 - 1500, rue Bank - Ottawa (Ontario) - K1H 7Z2
Téléphone: 1-855-502-7467 Télécopieur: 1-866-240-7025
Courriel: assistance@crins-sinrc.ca

 

Copyright 2011 CRINS-SINRC Corporation, tous droits réservés