Canadian
CanadianAbout CRINS
The Canadian Radiocommunications Information and Notification Service (CRINS)
OTHER AREAS
HOW IT WORKS

CRINS-SINRC is a not-for-profit corporation owned and operated on behalf of member Land Use Authorities (LUAs) - typically municipal government, or in the case of Crown Lands a provincial or federal agency - to receive, process and evaluate proposals for radicommunications facilities. Proponents submit information regarding their proposed radiocommunications sites for review by the LUA and the general public.

 

Once a proponent submits an application for a proposed site, a five step process is undertaken:


Preconsultation with Land Use Authority
Although radiocommunications sites are a federal undertaking, the Land Use Authority is recognized as the first point of contact by the public regarding all development and land use within their jurisdictional boundaries. As a result, Industry Canada recognizes that Land Use Authorities have valuable input regarding land use in the local area surrounding a proposed radiocommunications site.

Once a proponent submits an application for review, the Land Use Authority will examine the information provided to determine if they require an in-person meeting with the proponent to discuss the proposed site and to obtain further clarification on the proposal. The LUA may also provide further information regarding other radiocommunications applications in the area, or non-radiocommunications development proposals which may affect the proposed site.

It is at this point a Land Use Authority may determine that the proposed site is located in a zoning area where a radiocommunications site is already an accepted use (i.e. an industrial zone), or that an exemption under Section 6 of Industry Canada’s CPC 2-0-03 (2014) from consultation should be granted. If so, a Notice of Facility Exemption will be issued to the Proponent indicating that further consultation is not required.
Notification of Local Residents of the Proposed Radiocommunications Site
Once an application has been submitted, the LUA determines that the site is not exempted from public consultation, and the proponent pays the requisite fees, the public consultation process begins.

CRINS-SINRC provides road signs for the proponent to install at the proposed site to notify residents of the application. These signs give contact information to reach the CRINS-SINRC website and the CRINS-SINRC 1-855 contact centre number so that the public can obtain more information on the application.

Additionally, in cooperation with the Land Use Authority, CRINS-SINRC produces a notification package for each proposed site and sends these packages via courier or registered mail to all registered landowners within the designated notification area. Signatures are required upon receipt of these packages as part of the audit trail for document delivery.

Finally those residents who have registered on CRINS-SINRC will receive an e-mail notification of new applications or updated information for existing applications in which they have indicated an interest.
Evaluation of the Proposed Radiocommunications site by the LUA.

The Land Use Authority reviews each application in the context of its existing zoning and strategic land use plan. In some cases a proposed site is considered an acceptable use within the area while in others the proposed site might be considered a drastic departure from existing uses.


While municipal zoning and land use strategies are not binding on radiocommunications sites, due to their federal jurisidiction, it is important that LUAs communicate this information to the proponent and Industry Canada so these considerations can be reviewed and so that the final design is sensitive to the strategic land use plan of the area.

Some of the key elements that are considered by the Land Use Authority in evaluating a proposed radiocommunications site include: environmental concerns and effects on land features such as waterways and sensitive ecological areas, historical buildings and properties, archeological and culturally sensitive areas (including First Nations lands), and architecturally significant streetscapes.

The Land Use Authority provides input into the CRINS-SINRC online system so that it may be viewed by the proponent and the public as part of the public discourse.

Solicitation of Public Input on the Proposed Radiocommunications Site.
Concurrently through the use of road signs, adjacent landowner notification packages, social media communications, and the CRINS-SINRC website, CRINS-SINRC actively solicits comments from the general public regarding proposed radiocommunications sites.

The CRINS-SINRC website provides a central repository for public comments on proposed radiocommunications facilities, as well as a host of informative material to educate the public on the factors and considerations involved in the development of these sites, thereby allowing the public to assess the impact of proposed facilities in their area.

All comments received by CRINS-SINRC, are made available to the public via the website, this includes written correspondence received by CRINS-SINRC which is scanned into digital form and added to the online system for review.

Participating Land Use Authorities may provide computer access to CRINS-SINRC at strategic locations to facilitate information gathering and sharing with the public.
Submission of the Final Report and publication to the public.
Upon completion of the public notification period the Land Use Authority, along with CRINS-SINRC staff, assess whether public concerns have been properly addressed by the Proponent. If so, the Proponent will be granted a Notice of Completion indicating the satisfactory end of the public consultation process.

While a Notice of Completion recognizes the completion of the appropriate notification process, it does not indicate support for the proposed site by the Land Use Authority nor the local residents. CRINS-SINRC will provide a separate report outlining any concerns or conditions by the Land Use Authority or remaining concerns from the general public to be addressed by the Proponent. Industry Canada promotes continuing dialogue between Proponents and LUAs to resolve any outstanding issues.

Industry Canada has access to all information in the CRINS-SINRC system to help assess compliance with CPC 2-0-03 and to execute its responsibilities to arbitrate outstanding disputes. Any final decisions by Industry Canada will be included in the CRINS-SINRC online system.
Canadian
Canadian Radiocommunications Information and Notification Service (CRINS)
P.O. Box 501 - 1500 Bank Street, - Ottawa, Ontario - K1H 7Z2
Telephone: 1-855-502-7467 - Facsimile: 1-866-240-7025
E-mail: assistance@crins-sinrc.ca
Copyright 2011-2014 CRINS-SINRC Corporation All Rights Reserved

Canadian
CanadianLe SINRC
Le Service d’information et de notification en radiocommunications canadiennes (SINRC)
AUTRES SECTEURS
COMMENT ÇA MARCHE?

Le CRINS-SINRC agit en partenariat avec les autorités responsables de l’utilisation du sol ou ARUS (il s’agit habituellement du gouvernement municipal ou, si le projet concerne des terres publiques, d’une agence provinciale ou fédérale), dans le but d’offrir une gamme d’outils et une centrale d’information qu’utilisent les promoteurs pour soumettre de l’information sur leurs projets de sites de radiocommunications à l’examen des ARUS et du grand public.

 

Une démarche en cinq étapes est lancée lorsqu’un promoteur présente une proposition de site et règle les frais de traitement exigés. Cette démarche est décrite ci-dessous.


Préconsultation auprès de l’autorité responsable de l’utilisation du sol.
Bien que les sites de radiocommunications soient strictement de compétence fédérale, il est d’usage pour la population de contacter d’abord l’autorité responsable de l’utilisation du sol pour tout ce qui a trait au développement et à l’utilisation du sol dans un territoire donné. C’est pourquoi Industrie Canada reconnaît la valeur de l’opinion de l’ARUS d’un territoire en matière d’utilisation du sol dans la région où on souhaite implanter un site de radiocommunications.

Lorsque le promoteur aura présenté sa demande de site, l’ARUS pourra examiner les renseignements fournis avant de déterminer si elle souhaite rencontrer le promoteur pour discuter plus avant du site proposé et obtenir des éclaircissements. L’ARUS peut également choisir de fournir des renseignements supplémentaires sur d’autres demandes en radiocommunications ou dans d’autres domaines pouvant avoir un impact sur le site visé.

C’est à cette étape que l’autorité responsable de l’utilisation du sol pourra déterminer si le site proposé se trouve en zonage permettant la construction d’un site de radiocommunication (zonage industriel) ou si la proposition est admissible à une exemption de consultation en vertu de l’article 6 de la politique CPC 2-0-03 (2008) d’Industrie Canada. Si c’est le cas, l’ARUS remettra au promoteur un avis d’exemption des installations stipulant qu’aucune consultation supplémentaire n’est requise.
Notification des résidents de l’existence d’un projet de site de radiocommunications.
La démarche de consultation publique commence après que la demande ait été présentée et que l’ARUS ait déterminé que le projet n’est pas admissible à une exemption de consultation publique.

Le CRINS-SINRC fournit au promoteur des panneaux de signalisation à installer au site proposé, afin d’informer les résidents de la demande qu’il a déposée. Ces panneaux donnent l’adresse du site Internet et le numéro 1-855 du CRINS-SINRC, où la population peut se renseigner sur cette demande.

Enfin, les résidents qui ouvrent un dossier sur le site du CRINS-SINRC seront avisés par courriel des nouvelles demandes dans leur secteur ou des mises à jour aux demandes auxquelles ils s’intéressent.

Évaluation par l’ARUS du site de radiocommunications proposé.

L’autorité responsable de l’utilisation du sol examine chaque demande, en fonction du zonage existant et du plan d’utilisation stratégique des terres. Dans certains cas, le site proposé sera considéré comme une utilisation acceptable dans la région concernée, alors que dans d’autres cas, il représentera une cassure avec l’utilisation actuelle.


Bien que le zonage municipal et la planification de l’utilisation stratégique des terres ne régissent pas les sites de radiocommunications, qui relèvent du fédéral, il est important que l’ARUS transmette ces renseignements au promoteur et à Industrie Canada, afin que ceux-ci puissent examiné ces considérations et en tenir compte dans le projet final. Dans leur examen d’un projet de site de radiocommunications, les autorités responsables de l’utilisation du sol se penchent sur quelques éléments principaux : les enjeux et effets environnementaux sur les lieux (cours d’eau, écosystèmes fragiles); les bâtiments et propriétés historiques; les secteurs d’intérêt archéologique ou culturel (y compris les terres des premières nations); enfin, les paysages de rue revêtant un intérêt architectural. L’ARUS utilise la plateforme Internet du CRINS-SINRC pour faire connaître son point de vue, que pourront examiner le promoteur et la population, dans le cadre d’un dialogue public.

Sollicitation de l’avis de la population sur le site de radiocommunications proposé.
Parallèlement au recours aux panneaux routiers, aux trousses de notification des propriétaires voisins, aux communications par les réseaux sociaux et au site Internet du CRINS-SINRC, le CRINS-SINRC sollicite spécifiquement les commentaires de la population sur les sites de radiocommunications proposés.

Le site Internet du CRINS-SINRC sert de centrale d’information sur les commentaires que formulé la population à propos des installations de radiocommunications proposées, en plus de regrouper plusieurs documents d’éducation populaire sur les facteurs et les considérations entrant en jeu dans le développement de ces installations. Ce site Internet aide le public à évaluer l’impact des installations proposées.

Tous les commentaires que reçoit le CRINS-SINRC sont publiés sur le site Internet, y compris les lettres reçues par la poste, qui sont numérisées pour faciliter leur consultation.

Les ARUS qui le souhaitent pourront offrir à leur population l’accès au site Internet du CRINS-SINRC par le biais d’ordinateurs publics installés dans des endroits stratégiques pour faciliter la cueillette de renseignements et le partage de ceux-ci avec la population.
Dépôt et publication du rapport final.
À la fin de la période de notification de la population, l’autorité responsable de l’utilisation du sol, avec l’aide du personnel du CRINS-SINRC, évaluera si le promoteur a répondu adéquatement aux points soulevés par la population. Si c’est le cas, le promoteur recevra un Avis d’achèvement qui stipulera que le processus de consultation publique est terminé et jugé satisfaisant.

Cet Avis d’achèvement reconnaît que la démarche de notification appropriée a été complétée; il ne signifie pas que l’ARUS ou la population locale appuie le projet. Le CRINS-SINRC produira un rapport distinct qui mettra en évidence, s’il y a lieu, les inquiétudes ou les conditions fixées par l’ARUS, ainsi que les inquiétudes de la population laissées en suspens et auxquelles le promoteur devra répondre. Industrie Canada encourage le maintien du dialogue entre le promoteur et l’ARUS afin que soient résolues toutes questions demeurées en suspens.

Industrie Canada a accès à tous les renseignements contenus dans le site CRINS-SINRC. Ces données l’aide à évaluer le respect de la politique CPC 2-0-03 et à assumer son rôle d’arbitre dans les litiges. Les décisions d’Industrie Canada seront ajoutées au site Internet du CRINS-SINRC.
Canadian
Service d’information et de notification en radiocommunications canadiennes
C.P 501 - 1500, rue Bank - Ottawa (Ontario) - K1H 7Z2
Téléphone: 1-855-502-7467 Télécopieur: 1-866-240-7025
Courriel: assistance@crins-sinrc.ca
Copyright 2011 CRINS-SINRC Corporation, tous droits réservés