Canadian
CanadianAbout CRINS
The Canadian Radiocommunications Information and Notification Service (CRINS)
OTHER AREAS
MISSION

The Canadian Radiocommunications Information and Notification Service (CRINS) is a non-governmental organization dedicated to providing the Canadian public with information and an opportunity to participate in the dialogue surrounding the building of radiocommunication sites and antenna tower systems in Canada.


On July 15, 2014 Industry Canada (IC), which has exclusive federal jurisdiction over the construction of radiocommunication installations and antenna systems in Canada, released the latest revision to Client Procedure Circular “CPC 2-0-03 Radiocommunications and Broadcast Antenna Systems, Issue 5”  (more commonly known as “CPC 2-0-03”) to update the manner in which operators (proponents) were expected to consult with the public prior to the construction of new radiocommunications sites. This policy document was developed from the recommendations of the multi-year National Antenna Tower Policy Review completed in December 2004 under the guidance of David A. Townsend, Faculty of Law at the University of New Brunswick ("the Townsend Report”).


While Industry Canada is the final arbiter in matters pertaining to antenna systems in Canada, the department seeks constructive input from stakeholders through a flexible consultation process; these include Land Use Authorities (LUAs) - which consist of municipalities, and the relevant provincial department or federal agency in the case of Crown Lands, the public and proponents of radiocommunications sites.

 

While CPC 2-0-03 provides a set of guidelines for consultation, it does not control the process directly - leaving it to the individual LUAs to establish with Proponents the manner in which public consultation is achieved while insuring minimal standards are met.


Since 2008, LUAs have developed a variety of consultation protocols with varying degrees of success. However, these individual approaches have made compliance with CPC 2-0-03 complicated and costly due to the many process nuances and differing information demands between the various LUAs. These approaches, while consistent in the wider context of CPC 2-0-03, do not always provide for the spirit of CPC 2-0-03 (2014) to be realized causing unnecessary confrontation between stakeholders over the necessity and compliance with various elements of the consultation process.


Finally, and perhaps most importantly, the general public is not being given the same opportunities for information and to provide comments on proposals consistently across Canada thereby compromising their voice in the local, regional and national dialogue.


The Canadian Radiocommunications Information and Notification Service (CRINS) promotes dialogue by providing a central repository for information regarding new proposed radiocommunications installations and antenna tower systems. This consistent approach to collecting and disseminating information recognizes the rights of the general public to be fully informed of the decision making process in a transparent, concise and collaborative manner independent of the jurisdiction they are in.


Additionally, by implementing a unified consultation process, proponents and LUAs can effectively review proposed installations in an efficient manner - saving both time and cost while assuring the public interest is being protected.

Canadian
Canadian Radiocommunications Information and Notification Service (CRINS)
P.O. Box 501 - 1500 Bank Street, - Ottawa, Ontario - K1H 7Z2
Telephone: 1-855-502-7467 - Facsimile: 1-866-240-7025
E-mail: assistance@crins-sinrc.ca
Copyright 2011 CRINS-SINRC Corporation All Rights Reserved

Canadian
CanadianLe SINRC
Le Service d’information et de notification en radiocommunications canadiennes (SINRC)
AUTRES SECTEURS
NOTRE MISSION

Le Service d’information et de notification en radiocommunications canadiennes (SINRC) est une organisation non gouvernementale qui se voue à informer la population canadienne et à lui permettre de participer au dialogue entourant l’érection de sites de radiocommunication et de systèmes d’antennes au Canada.


En 2008, Industrie Canada (IC), seul ministère à avoir l’autorité fédérale sur la construction d’installations de radiocommunication et de systèmes d’antennes au Canada, a modifié sa Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients « CPC 2-0-03 Systèmes d’antennes de radiocommunications et de radiodiffusion, 4e édition » (mieux connue sous son appellation « CPC 2-0-03 »), pour moderniser le processus de consultation publique que devraient suivre les exploitants (appelés promoteurs) avant de construire de nouveaux sites de radiocommunications. L’élaboration de ce document de politique s’est fondée sur les recommandations issues de l’Examen de la politique nationale sur les pylônes d’antenne, qui s’est effectué sous la direction de David A. Townsend, professeur à la faculté de droit de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick, et qui s’est conclu en décembre 2004 (« le rapport Townsend »).


Industrie Canada demeure la dernière instance en matière de systèmes d’antennes au Canada, mais le ministère souhaite connaître l’avis constructif des intervenants, par le biais d’un processus flexible de consultation. Par intervenants, on entend ici les autorités responsables de l’utilisation du sol (ARUS), soit les municipalités ou, s’il s’agit de terres publiques, les agences ou ministères provinciaux ou fédéraux pertinents, ainsi que la population et les promoteurs des sites de radiocommunications.

 

CPC 2-0-03 définit les lignes directrices de la consultation, mais cette politique ne contrôle pas le processus de consultation. Elle laisse à chaque ARUS le soin de déterminer, avec le promoteur, de quelle manière la population sera consultée, dans le respect de certaines normes minimales.


Depuis 2008, les ARUS ont élaboré plusieurs protocoles de consultation aux résultats variables. Malheureusement, tous ces processus différents compliquent la tâche des promoteurs qui doivent investir beaucoup d’argent pour respecter la politique CPC 2-0-03 et s’adapter aux nuances de chaque protocole et aux exigences qui varient d’une ARUS à l’autre. De plus, bien qu’elles cadrent avec le contexte général de CPC 2-0-03, ces approches ne respectent pas toujours l’esprit de CPC 2-0-03 (2008), entraînant ainsi des frictions inutiles entre les intervenants à propos de la nécessité ou du caractère obligatoire de tel ou tel élément du processus de consultation.


Enfin et surtout, d’un cas à l’autre, la population n’a pas accès aux mêmes occasions de s’informer et de se faire entendre sur les projets proposés, ce qui compromet son influence dans le dialogue local, régional et national.


Le Service d’information et de notification en radiocommunications canadiennes (SINRC) encourage le dialogue en proposant une centrale d’information sur les nouveaux projets d’installations de radiocommunications et de systèmes d’antennes. Ce processus constant de cueillette et de diffusion de l’information reconnaît le droit de la population à être pleinement informée du processus décisionnel, d’une manière concise, transparente, collaborative et indépendante des gouvernements.


De plus, en choisissant un processus de consultation uniformisé, les promoteurs et les ARUS peuvent étudié les projets d’installations plus efficacement, économisant ainsi temps et argent, tout en protégeant les intérêts de la population.

Canadian
Service d’information et de notification en radiocommunications canadiennes
C.P 501 - 1500, rue Bank - Ottawa (Ontario) - K1H 7Z2
Téléphone: 1-855-502-7467 Télécopieur: 1-866-240-7025
Courriel: assistance@crins-sinrc.ca
Copyright 2011 CRINS-SINRC Corporation, tous droits réservés